A (Not-So) Quick Introduction

Hi and welcome to my blog! I’ve been blogging around the internet since about 2001 and I’m happy to say that this is my first “adult” blog! I’m keeping this mostly to post about the weekly lessons I do with my classes, but may update with how I’ve handled situations around the school occasionally, as well.

So first, about me! I’m a 30 year old woman who just landed the job of her dreams in November of 2013. I graduated with my Masters from an Ohio small-ish university in the Spring of 2012, right when schools started cutting support positions. I applied to hundreds (probably around 200-300) of schools between the day I graduated and the day I was hired, looking everywhere from Ohio to California to out of the country, and only had 4 interviews. I felt completely deflated and defeated when, by luck, I stumbled on a job posting in Kansas on the ASCA Scene website. On a complete lark, I applied, sure I would hear nothing. A few weeks later and I got a call for an interview. Again, I was fairly certain this would result in nothing, so during my interview, I was as honest as I could be and pretty relaxed. An hour later, and I knew. Although it wasn’t made official until the following week (interview on Thursday, offer made on Tuesday), I knew I had the job as soon as the shock wore off. I’m not a boastful person, it was just a, “I just know,” situation. So I accepted a job 1100 miles away from my family, my friends, my boyfriend, and everything that I knew. Finally getting the job I had wanted for long and worked for so hard wasn’t supposed to be so bittersweet, but it was. So I packed up as much as I could into two suitcases and a carry-on (thanks, Southwest Airlines!!), boarded a plane with my boyfriend for a last minute, week-long vacation to Denver, and just like that, I was no longer a resident of Ohio! My first few days were pretty scary–coming into a school in the middle of the semester with a tightly-knit staff was daunting. There had been no counselor in my building when I got here–the counselors from other elementary buildings had been splitting duties here–so the students and teachers were a little…difficult to reach. As I’ve gotten to know everyone, I find that teachers are coming to me more often with issues, which is a huge relief. More importantly, students smile and say my name and hug me when they see me, which serves as a constant reminder as to why I’m here, doing what I’m doing. I never in a million years would have imagined working in an elementary, and now I can’t imagine working with any other level. Seeing the world through their eyes is an experience I will never forget, especially from this year, my first year on what I hope is a long and successful journey.

One response to “A (Not-So) Quick Introduction

  1. Congrats on landing your dream job. I am glad your persistence paid off. I have been through KS a few times and enjoyed it…

Leave a Reply

